Things to Do in April Around Lorton

Spring has sprung around Lorton. Keep your family busy during Teacher Work Day and Spring Break with egg hunts, festivals, and camps. Round out the month with Historic Garden Week and the start of the season at Pohick Bay Golf Course.

All month long:

🖼️ Fifty Shades of Green: Painting from Life – Manassas

  • Monday, April 1 – Monday, April 15, Mondays – Fridays 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM; Saturdays 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Center for the Arts of Greater Manassas/Prince William County

🎪 Potomac Mills Spring Carnival – Woodbridge

  • Thursday, April 11 – Friday, April 12, 5:00 PM – 11:00 PM
    Saturday, April 13 – Monday, April 22, 1:00 PM – 11:00 PM
  • Potomac Mills

Photo by: National Cherry Blossom Festival

First week:

🌸 Cherry Blossom Peak Bloom – Washington, D.C.

  • Monday, April 1 – Friday, April 5
  • Tidal Basin

🥁 How Sweet the Sound – Mount Vernon

  • Thursday, April 4, 7:00 PM – 9:00 PM
  • George Washington’s Mount Vernon

Teacher Work Day Camp – Lorton

  • Friday, April 5, 9:00 AM – 2:00 PM
  • Metropolitan Baseball Academy

🎽 VA Runner Run Club – Lorton

  • Saturday, April 6, 9:00 AM – 11:00 AM
  • Occoquan Regional Park

Photo by: Historic Gunston Hall

Second week:

🍺 Hip Hop Yoga at Fair Winds – Lorton

  • Wednesday, April 10, 7:00 PM – 9:00 PM
  • Fair Winds Brewing Company

🐰 Ben Lomond Eggstravaganza – Manassas

  • Saturday, April 13, 10:00 AM – 2:00 PM
  • Ben Lomond Historic Site

☀️ Kite Festival – Mason Neck

  • Saturday, April 13, 10:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Gunston Hall

👟 Lorton Prison Break Dash 2019 – Lorton

  • Sunday, April 14, 9:00 AM – 11:00 AM
  • Workhouse Arts Center

Photo by: doug the trail builder

Third week:

🚵‍♀️ Mountain Bike Demo – Lorton

  • Sunday, April 14, 10:00 AM – 1:00 PM
  • Meadowood Mountain Bike Trail

🍻 Facetime with History: Albert Gallatin – Alexandria

  • Sunday, April 14, 1:00 PM – 5:00 PM
  • Gadsby’s Tavern Museum

🥋 Spring Break Camp – Lorton

  • Monday, April 15 – Friday, April 19, 8:30 AM – 5:00 PM
  • STB Training Center

🥚 Rippon Lodge Easter Egg Hunt – Woodbridge

  • Saturday, April 20, 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Rippon Lodge Historic Site

Photo by: Pohick Bay Golf Course

Later in the month:

2019 Season Kick-Off Tournament – Lorton

  • Friday, April 26
  • Pohick Bay Golf Course

🍸 Cocktails by Candlelight – Mason Neck

  • Friday, April 26, 6:00 PM – 9:00 PM
  • Gunston Hall

🌷 Historic Garden Week – Various locations

  • Saturday, April 27 – Saturday, May 4
  • Various tours throughout Virginia

🎭 Carmen and Life in the Fast Lane – Manassas

  • Sunday, April 28, 3:00 PM
  • Hylton Performing Arts Center

For more information on events around Lorton, follow us on Facebook at The Liberty Life, Instagram @LibertyLorton, and Twitter @LibertyLorton or give us a recommendation on Nextdoor.

Featured photo from Prince William County.