Things to Do in May Around Lorton

April showers bring May flowers!

Enjoy the warm weather in Northern Virginia with local outdoor activities, and fine arts across the area. Plus, this month marks our first Outdoor Movie Night to be held on the Liberty Green. Don’t miss out on sunset tours, yoga and more around Lorton this month!

All month long:

Rock of Ages: The Musical – Lorton

  • Saturday, May 05 – Monday, May 07, 8:00 PM – 11:00 PM
  • Workhouse Arts Center

First weekend:

Leesylvania State Park

Photo by: Judy Gallagher

Potomac River Blockade Tours – Woodbridge

  • Saturday, May 5, 10:00 AM – 1:00 PM
  • Leesylvania State Park

Revolutionary War Weekend – Mount Vernon

  • Saturday, May 5 and Sunday, 6, 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • George Washington’s Mount Vernon

Second week:

Storytime in the Park – Fairfax

  • Tuesday, May 8, 10:30 AM
  • Old Town Square

Yoga on the Magnolia Terrace – Alexandria

  • Tuesday, May 8, 10:30 AM
  • Carlyle House Historic Park

Second Saturday Art Walk at the Workhouse – Lorton

  • Saturday, May 12, 6:00 PM – 9:00 PM
  • Workhouse Art Center

21st Annual Eagle Festival – Lorton

  • Saturday, May 12, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Mason Neck State Park

Third week:

Outdoor Movie Night

Photo by: FunFlicks

Monday Trivia – Woodbridge

  • Monday, May 14, 7:00 PM – 9:00 PM
  • Brew Republic Bierwerks

Northern Virginia Fine Arts Festival – Reston

  • Friday, May 18 – Sunday, May 20, 10:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Reston Town Center

Movie Night at Liberty – Lorton

  • Saturday, May 19, 7:30 PM – 10:00 PM – THIS EVENT IS POSTPONED 
  • The Liberty Green

Spring Wine Festival & Sunset Tour – Mount Vernon

  • Friday, May 18 – Sunday, May 20, 6:00 PM – 9:00 PM
  • George Washington’s Mount Vernon

Later in the month

Bull Run

Photo by: Phil

Museum Kids Monday – Manassas

  • Monday, May 21, 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
  • Ben Lomond Historic Site

Memorial Day Distillers Festival – Falls Church

  • Saturday, May 26, 11:00 AM – 7:00 PM
  • Falls Church City, S. Washington Street

Sunday Funday – Woodbridge

  • Sunday, May 27, 12:00 PM – 8:00 PM
  • Brew Republic Bierwerks

National Memorial Day Observance at Arlington National Cemetery– Arlington

  • Monday, May 28, 8:00 AM – 7:00 PM
  • Arlington National Cemetery

For more information about Liberty, stay in touch with us on Twitter @LibertyLorton. To see highlights from all of these events and more, find us on Facebook at Liberty Lorton and on Instagram @LibertyLorton.

Featured photo by: Jim Williams