Things to Do in May Around Lorton

Is it summer yet? We’re ready to enjoy the warm weather and get outside with events at parks and outdoor sites all around Lorton. Barnyard yoga is back, with goat yoga early in the month and bunny meditation during Mother’s Day weekend. Liberty residents can also enjoy an early start to summer with our annual pool opening party.

All month long:

🕯️ Stretch, Flex & Meditate by Candlelight – Lorton

  • Thursday, May 9, 16, 23, and 30, 8:00 PM – 9:00 PM
  • Lorton Link Family Fitness Studio

Family Fun Nights – Lorton

  • Friday, May 3, 10, 17, 24, and 31, 5:00 PM – 8:00 PM
  • Pohick Bay Golf Course

First week:


🚒 Herndon Big Truck Days – Herndon

  • Thursday, May 2, 9:00 AM – 3:00 PM and Friday, May 3, 9:00 AM – 7:00 PM
  • Herndon Public Works Complex

🏛️ Architectural Tours of Ben Lomond – Manassas

  • Saturday, May 4, 11:00 AM – 4:00 PM
  • Ben Lomond Historic Site

🐐 Goat Yoga – Arlington

  • Sunday, May 5, 12:00 PM and 1:00 PM
  • Faith Lutheran Church

🍹 Cinco de Drinko – Woodbridge

  • Sunday, May 5, 5:00 PM – 9:00 PM
  • Brew Republic Bierwerks

Second week:


Birding on the Boat – Fairfax Station

  • Tuesday, May 7, 8:00 AM – 10:00 AM
  • Burke Lake Park

🐰 Bunny Meditation – Lorton

  • Saturday, May 11, 12:00 PM and 1:00 PM
  • Liberty Lorton

🍽️ Mother’s Day Brunch – Lorton

  • Sunday, May 12, 10:00 Am – 3:00 PM
  • The River View at Occoquan Regional Park

🌳 Lorton Field Day – Lorton

  • Monday, May 13, 3:00 PM – 8:00 PM
  • Gunston Hall

Third week:


🎂 3rd Anniversary Yoga & Beer at Fair Winds – Lorton

  • Wednesday, May 15, 7:00 PM – 9:00 PM
  • Fair Winds Brewing Company

🍷 Spring Wine Festival and Sunset Tour – Mount Vernon

  • Friday, May 17 – Sunday, May 19, 6:00 PM – 9:00 PM
  • George Washington’s Mount Vernon

🎨 KidsFest – Manassas

  • Saturday, May 18, 11:00 AM – 6:00 PM
  • City of Manassas Museum

🎪 Discover Occoquan Festival – Occoquan

  • Saturday, May 18, 11:00 AM – 8:00 PM
  • Downtown Historic Occoquan

☀️ Liberty Residents-Only Pool Party – Lorton

  • Saturday, May 18, 12:00 PM – 2:00 PM
  • Liberty Lorton Pool

Later in the month:


🍻 Woodbridge Beer Fest – Woodbridge

  • Saturday, May 25, 11:00 AM – 5:00 PM
  • Stonebridge at Potomac Town Center

🌹 Herndon Memorial Day Observance – Herndon

  • Monday, May 27, 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
  • Chestnut Grove Cemetery

🎙️ Mexican Dinner and Comedy Show – Lorton

  • Friday, May 31, 6:00 PM – 9:00 PM
  • Spring Hill Community Association

🎼 Silver Salute (To The Red, White, and Blue) – Manassas

  • Friday, May 31, 7:30 PM – 9:30 PM
  • Hylton Performing Arts Center

For more information on events around Lorton and at Liberty, follow us on Facebook at The Liberty Life, Instagram @LibertyLorton, and Twitter @LibertyLorton. Follow community updates with #LibertyLorton.